Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 533,000,000 search results

  1. Yuan Shikai, Wade-Giles romanization Yüan Shih-k’ai, courtesy name ( zi) Weiting, literary name ( hao) Rong’an, (born Sept. 16, 1859, Henan province, China—died June 6, 1916), Chinese army leader and reformist minister in the twilight of the Qing dynasty (until 1911) and then first president of the Republic of China (1912–16).

    • Jerome Ch'en
  2. Top right: Chiang Kai-shek was the first President under the 1947 Constitution. Bottom left: Lee Teng-hui was the first President directly elected by popular vote. Bottom right: Tsai Ing-wen, the incumbent officeholder, is the first female President. Politics of the Republic of China (Taiwan) Government Presidency Executive Legislature Judiciary

  3. People also ask

    Who is the current political leader of China?

    Why is it called the People's Republic of China?

    Who was overthrown in China during 1949?

    Who was China's First Republic leader?

  4. The Republic of China president is called 總統 (Zǒngtǒng, "President"), and from 1912–1928, 大總統 (Dàzǒngtǒng, "Grand President"). Since 1949, the de facto territory of the ROC is reduced to Taiwan and its surrounding islands, the former previously ruled by Japan from 1895 to 1945, no longer governing mainland China.

    Name (birth–death)
    Term Of Office
    Term Of Office
    Yuan Shikai 袁世凱 Yuán Shìkǎi ...
    10 October 1913
    6 June 1916 [note 1]
    Li Yuanhong 黎元洪 Lí Yuánhóng ...
    7 June 1916
    17 July 1917 [note 2]
    Feng Guozhang 馮國璋 Féng Guózhāng ...
    17 July 1917
    10 October 1918
    Xu Shichang 徐世昌 Xú Shìchāng ...
    10 October 1918
    2 June 1922
  5. All the names on this list follow the Eastern order convention (family name first, personal name second). The president of the People's Republic of China was created in 1954 when the first constitution consolidated the system of government in the People's Republic of China. At the time, the title was translated into English as State Chairman.

  6. The "Republic of China" was formally proclaimed on 1 January 1912 and Sun Yat-sen took office in Nanking (now Nanjing) as the first provisional president. Sun resigned on March 10 and was succeeded by Qing Empire Prime Minister Yuan Shikai. This moved the government to Beijing . Government of the Republic of China (Beijing, 1913–1928) [ edit]

  1. People also search for