Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 119,000 search results

  1. On June 1, 1922, Pope Pius XI renamed the diocese again, making it the Diocese of Los Angeles-San Diego, and simultaneously erected a new diocese, named the Diocese of Monterey-Fresno, in what had become northern portion of its territory after the erection of the Archdiocese of San Francisco.

    • (as of 2015), 11,599,000, 4,392,000 (37.9%)
    • United States
  2. The larger area, known as the Diocese of Los Angeles-San Diego, covered the southern counties to the Mexican border. In July 1936, a second Metropolitan District in California, which was based at Los Angeles, was established and simultaneously the four southernmost counties became the Diocese of San Diego.

  3. Aug 21, 2013 · In 1922, Rome split Monterey-Los Angeles into two dioceses: Los Angeles-San Diego and Monterey-Fresno. And in 1936, Los Angeles was made an archdiocese (and San Diego a diocese), making Cantwell Los Angeles’ first archbishop. Then came Los Angeles’ first two cardinal-archbishops: James Francis McIntyre (1948-70) and Timothy Manning (1970-85).

  4. On July 11, 1936, the Roman Catholic Diocese of San Diego California was created out of the Los Angeles-San Diego diocese. The new diocese comprised the Southern California counties of San Bernardino, Riverside, Imperial, and San Diego, with Charles Francis Buddy being named as its founding bishop.

  5. On July 11, 1936 the diocese was elevated to become the Archdiocese of Los Angeles with John Joseph Cantwell as its first archbishop; concurrently, Imperial, Riverside, San Bernardino, and San Diego Counties were split to form the suffragan Diocese of San Diego, and the Diocese of Monterey-Fresno was transferred to become a suffragan of the new ...

  6. Diocese of Los Angeles-San Diego. Latin Name: Angelorum in California; Split: 1 June 1922; Metropolitan: Archdiocese of San Francisco; State: California Country: United States of America

  7. Cardinal Roger M. Mahony was the first head of the Los Angeles Archdiocese to have been born in Los Angeles. Archbishop Gómez is the first Hispanic to serve as Archbishop of Los Angeles. Almanac facts, information and trivia about Los Angeles County, its people, cities and communities.

  1. People also search for