Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 1,400,000 search results

  1. Dwight D. Eisenhower's tenure as the 34th president of the United States began with his first inauguration on January 20, 1953, and ended on January 20, 1961. Eisenhower, a Republican from Kansas, took office following a landslide victory over Democrat Adlai Stevenson in the 1952 presidential election .

  2. He commanded the Allied Forces landing in North Africa in November 1942; on D-Day, 1944, he was Supreme Commander of the troops invading France. After the war, he became President of Columbia...

  3. General Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890-1969), born in Texas to pacifist parents and a graduate of the West Point Class of 1915, was one of the most important American generals of World War II. He also later became the 34 th President of the United States (1953-1961). He was best known by the nickname acquired while growing up in Abilene, Kansas - Ike.

  4. Mar 19, 2018 · Dwight Eisenhower was born on October 14, 1890, in Denison, Texas. He served as Supreme Allied Commander during World War II. After the war, he was elected president in 1952 and took office on January 20, 1953. Following are ten key facts that are important to understand when studying the life and presidency of Dwight David Eisenhower.

  5. Oct 9, 2015 · Eisenhower never saw active combat. Although he spent 35 years in the military and served during both world wars, Eisenhower never saw a single day of active combat. After graduating from the...

  6. Dwight D. Eisenhower People, Leader First Inaugural Address, delivered 20 January 1953 68 Copy quote Never let yourself be persuaded that any one Great Man, any one leader, is necessary to the salvation of America. When America consists of one leader and 158 million followers, it will no longer be America. Dwight D. Eisenhower Men, America, Leader

  7. Dwight D. Eisenhower won the 1952 election in a significant landslide, even picking up much of the Democratic South. Eisenhower's coattails, however, did not carry many Republicans into Congress. The GOP won control of Congress, but only by narrow majorities—three seats in the House of Representatives, one seat in the Senate.

  1. People also search for