Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 29,400,000 search results

  1. The German Empire (German: Deutsches Kaiserreich), also referred to as Imperial Germany, the Second Reich, or simply Germany, was the period of the German Reich from the unification of Germany in 1871 until the November Revolution in 1918, when the German Reich changed its form of government from a monarchy to a republic.

  2. May 17, 2023 · German Empire, also called Second Reich, historical empire founded on January 18, 1871, in the wake of three short, successful wars by the North German state of Prussia. Within a seven-year span, Denmark , the Habsburg monarchy , and France had been vanquished.

  3. The German Empire was founded on January 18, 1871, in the aftermath of three successful wars by the North German state of Prussia. Within a seven-year period Denmark, the Habsburg monarchy, and France were vanquished in short, decisive conflicts.

  4. German Empire: 1871–1918: World War I: 1914–1918: Weimar Republic: 1918–1933: Nazi Germany: 1933–1945: World War II: 1939–1945: Fall of Nazi Germany: 1942–1945

  5. The German Empire or Germany ("Deutsches Reich" or "Deutsches Kaiserreich"or Deutschland in the German language) is the name for a group of German countries from January 18, 1871 to November 9, 1918.

  6. The German states were bound together in a loose political entity known as the Holy Roman Empire, which dated to the era of Charlemagne in the 800s. By the late eighteenth century, the Holy Roman Empire was, as Voltaire remarked, “Neither holy, nor Roman, nor an Empire.”

  7. Jan 13, 2021 · On 18 January 1871, Friedrich Wilhelm I of Hohenzollern was crowned as the first emperor of a united Germany in Versailles. See how the Guardian reported events.

  8. Apr 14, 2010 · Wilhelm II (1859-1941) was the last German kaiser (emperor) and king of Prussia from 1888 to 1918, and one of the most recognizable public figures of World War I (1914-18).

  9. The German Empire (officially Deutsches Reich) was the historical German nation state that existed from the unification of Germany in 1871 to the abdication of Kaiser Wilhelm II in November 1918, when Germany became a federal republic (the Weimar Republic).

  10. The German colonial empire was an overseas area formed in the late nineteenth century as part of the Hohenzollern dynasty's German Empire. Short-lived colonial efforts by individual German states had occurred in preceding centuries, but Imperial Germany's colonial efforts began in 1883.

  11. Sep 4, 2019 · Unlike Britain, France and other European powers, the German Empire was a comparatively young national entity. It was formed in 1871 after the unification of more than two dozen German-speaking kingdoms and duchies. The men who instigated and led the unification of Germany were nationalist politicians and generals.

  12. The German Emperor ( German: Deutscher Kaiser, pronounced [ˈdɔʏtʃɐ ˈkaɪzɐ] ( listen)) was the official title of the head of state and hereditary ruler of the German Empire. A specifically chosen term, it was introduced with the 1 January 1871 constitution and lasted until the official abdication of Wilhelm II on 9 November 1918. [1]

  13. May 24, 2023 · So in June of 1914 Archduke Franz Ferdinand, the Austrian Heir, was gunned down, and thus sparked World War 1. With the German Empire and her allies defeat in 1918 the Old World Died. Three powerful Empires were dismembered and forced to accept Democracies. Winston Churchill said, lamenting the cause of World War 2, “This war would never have ...

  1. People also search for