Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 424,000,000 search results

  1. 1. : one of the great divisions of land (as North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, or Antarctica) on the globe. 2. capitalized : the continent of Europe.

  2. Jul 27, 2022 · A continent is one of Earth’s seven main divisions of land. The continents are, from largest to smallest: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Ant arctica, Europe, and Australia. When geographers identify a continent, they usually include all the islands associated with it. Japan, for instance, is part of the continent of Asia.

  3. Sep 7, 2011 · continent1 / ( ˈkɒntɪnənt) / noun one of the earth's large land masses (Asia, Australia, Africa, Europe, North and South America, and Antarctica) that part of the earth's crust that rises above the oceans and is composed of sialic rocks. Including the continental shelves, the continents occupy 30 per cent of the earth's surface obsolete

  4. Jun 18, 2020 · 7 Continents of the World In the US, the traditional list of continents includes exactly seven: Europe, Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Australia, and Antarctica. The actual list of continents is a human creation and is very regionalized. There can be anywhere between four and seven continents depending on where you went to school.

  5. Which continent does Russia belong to? Russia is part of both Europe and Asia. In the 7 continent model in fact, it is not always clear where to place Russia. In the map pictured above Russia is divided into two parts (European Russia and the "Asian part" of the Russian Federation) along the Ural Mountains line, from the source of the Ural River down to the Greater Caucasus from the Caspian Sea to the Black Sea (following the modern definition of Europe as provided by the National Geographic ...

  6. The continent is situated on the South American Plate, which meets the Caribbean Plate in the Caribbean Sea in the north, the Nazca plate in the South Pacific Ocean in the west. It adjoins the African plate in the east, and it borders the Antarctic Plate in the south.

  7. The widely recognized all the 7 continents are listed by size below, from biggest to smallest. Asia includes 50 countries, and it is the most populated continent, the 60% of the total population of the Earth live here. Africa comprises 54 countries. It is the hottest continent and home of the world's largest desert, the Sahara, occupying the 25% of the total area of Africa.

  1. People also search for