Yahoo Web Search

  1. John C. Austin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org › wiki › John_C

    John Corneby Wilson Austin (February 13, 1870 – September 3, 1963) was an architect and civic leader who participated in the design of several landmark buildings in Southern California, including the Griffith Observatory, Los Angeles City Hall, and the Shrine Auditorium

  2. John Austin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org › wiki › John_Austin

    John C. Austin (1870–1963), British-born American architect John Mather Austin (1805–1880), Universalist clergyman in New York State John Osborne Austin (1849–1918), genealogist

  3. People also ask

    Where was William Austin born and what did he do?

    When did John Austin write lectures on jurisprudence?

    How did John Austin develop his theory of law?

    How old was Austin Miller when he was born?

  4. John C. Austin (1870-1963) - Find A Grave Memorial

    www.findagrave.com › memorial › 136899925

    John C. Austin. Architect, Civic Leader. Educated in England, Austin moved to the United States in the late 1880s and worked as a draftsman for an architect in Philadelphia from 1891–1892, before relocating to San Francisco where he worked a draftsman from 1892-1895. He moved to Los Angeles in 1895, and became one of the city's leading ...

    • 13 Feb 1870, Oxfordshire, England
    • Cremation niche, map 38, row TG, column 12
    • 3 Sep 1963 (aged 93), Pasadena, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    • Altadena, California
  5. John Austin (legal philosopher) - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org › wiki › John_Austin_(legal

    John Austin (3 March 1790 – 1 December 1859) was an English legal theorist, who posthumously influenced British and American law with an analytical approach to jurisprudence and a theory of legal positivism.

  6. John C Austin (1866-1952) - Find A Grave Memorial

    www.findagrave.com › memorial › 29092138

    Born in 17 Sep 1866 and died in 1 May 1952 New Salem, North Carolina John C Austin

    • 17 Sep 1866
    • New Salem, North Carolina
  7. When did John C. Austin die? - Answers

    www.answers.com › Q › When_did_John_C

    Apr 30, 2014 · John C. Austin died on 1963-09-03.

  8. JOHN C AUSTIN - people search, genealogy, find deceased ...

    www.locateancestors.com › john-c-austin

    Date of death Lived State Zip Code (Last Residence) Zip Code (Lump Tax payment) JOHN C AUSTIN: ... JOHN C AUSTIN: 142-16-4652: December 29, 1917: April 12, 2007: 89 ...

  9. John C. Austin, MD - Home | Facebook

    www.facebook.com › JohnAustinMD

    John C. Austin, MD. January 1 at 7:43 AM ·. Happy New Year! We wish you a healthy, happy new year to come. #2021 #hope #happynewyear. Like Comment Share. John C. Austin, MD.

  10. Jane Austen - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org › wiki › Jane_Austen
    • Biographical Sources
    • Life
    • Published Author
    • Posthumous Publication
    • Genre and Style
    • Reception

    There is little biographical information about Jane Austen's life except the few letters that survived and the biographical notes her family members wrote. During her lifetime, Austen may have written as many as 3,000 letters, but only 161 survived. Many of the letters were written to Austen's older sister Cassandra, who in 1843 burned the greater part of them and cut pieces out of those she kept. Ostensibly, Cassandra destroyed or censored her sister's letters to prevent their falling into the hands of relatives and ensuring that "younger nieces did not read any of Jane Austen's sometimes acid or forthright comments on neighbours or family members".[d]Cassandra believed that in the interest of tact and Jane's penchant for forthrightness, these details should be destroyed. The paucity of record of Austen's life leaves modern biographers little with which to work. The situation was compounded as successive generations of the family expunged and sanitised the already opaque details of...

    Family

    Jane Austen was born in Steventon, Hampshire, on 16 December 1775. She was born a month later than her parents expected; her father wrote of her arrival in a letter that her mother "certainly expected to have been brought to bed a month ago". He added that her arrival was particularly welcome as "a future companion to her sister".The winter of 1776 was particularly harsh and it was not until 5 April that she was baptised at the local church with the single name Jane. For much of Jane's life,...

    Steventon

    In 1768, the family finally took up residence in Steventon. Henry was the first child to be born there, in 1771. At about this time, Cassandra could no longer ignore the signs that little George was developmentally disabled. He was subject to seizures, may have been deaf and mute, and she chose to send him out to be fostered. In 1773, Cassandra was born, followed by Francisin 1774, and Jane in 1775. According to Honan, the atmosphere of the Austen home was an "open, amused, easy intellectual"...

    Education

    In 1783, Austen and her sister Cassandra were sent to Oxford to be educated by Mrs Ann Cawley who took them with her to Southampton when she moved there later in the year. In the autumn both girls were sent home when they caught typhus and Austen nearly died. Austen was from then home educated, until she attended boarding school in Reading with her sister from early in 1785 at the Reading Abbey Girls' School, ruled by Mrs La Tournelle, who possessed a cork leg and a passion for theatre. The s...

    At the time, married British women did not have the legal power to sign contracts, and it was common for a woman wishing to publish to have a male relative represent her to sign the contract. Like most women authors at the time, Austen had to publish her books anonymously.At the time, the ideal roles for a woman were as wife and mother, and writing for women was regarded at best as a secondary form of activity; a woman who wished to be a full-time writer was felt to be degrading her femininity, so books by women were usually published anonymously in order to maintain the conceit that the female writer was only publishing as a sort of part-time job, and was not seeking to become a "literacy lioness" (i.e a celebrity). During her time at Chawton, Jane Austen published four generally well-received novels. Through her brother Henry, the publisher Thomas Egerton agreed to publish Sense and Sensibility, which, like all of Jane Austen's novels except Pride and Prejudice, was published "on...

    In the months after Austen's death in July 1817, Cassandra, Henry Austen and Murray arranged for the publication of Persuasion and Northanger Abbey as a set.[p] Henry Austen contributed a Biographical Note dated December 1817, which for the first time identified his sister as the author of the novels. Tomalin describes it as "a loving and polished eulogy".Sales were good for a year—only 321 copies remained unsold at the end of 1818. Although Austen's six novels were out of print in England in the 1820s, they were still being read through copies housed in private libraries and circulating libraries. Austen had early admirers. The first piece of what we might now call fan fiction (or real person fiction) using her as a character appeared in 1823 in a letter to the editor in The Lady's Magazine.It refers to Austen's genius and suggests that aspiring authors were envious of her powers. In 1832 Richard Bentley purchased the remaining copyrights to all of her novels, and over the followin...

    Austen's works critique the sentimental novels of the second half of the 18th century and are part of the transition to 19th-century literary realism.[q] The earliest English novelists, Richardson, Henry Fielding and Tobias Smollett, were followed by the school of sentimentalists and romantics such as Walter Scott, Horace Walpole, Clara Reeve, Ann Radcliffe, and Oliver Goldsmith, whose style and genre Austen rejected, returning the novel on a "slender thread" to the tradition of Richardson and Fielding for a "realistic study of manners". In the mid-20th century, literary critics F. R. Leavis and Ian Wattplaced her in the tradition of Richardson and Fielding; both believe that she used their tradition of "irony, realism and satire to form an author superior to both". Walter Scott noted Austen's "resistance to the trashy sensationalism of much of modern fiction—'the ephemeral productions which supply the regular demand of watering places and circulating libraries'". Yet her rejection...

    Contemporaneous responses

    As Austen's works were published anonymously, they brought her little personal renown. They were fashionable among opinion-makers, but were rarely reviewed. Most of the reviews were short and on balance favourable, although superficial and cautious,most often focused on the moral lessons of the novels. Sir Walter Scott, a leading novelist of the day, anonymously wrote a review of Emma 1815, using it to defend the then-disreputable genre of the novel and praising Austen's realism, "the art of...

    19th century

    Because Austen's novels did not conform to Romantic and Victorian expectations that "powerful emotion [be] authenticated by an egregious display of sound and colour in the writing", 19th-century critics and audiences preferred the works of Charles Dickens and George Eliot. Though the Romantic Scott was positive, Austen's work did not match the prevailing aesthetic values of the Romantic zeitgeist.Her novels were republished in Britain from the 1830s and sold steadily, but they were not best-s...

    Modern

    Austen's works have attracted legions of scholars. The first dissertation on Austen was published in 1883, by George Pellew, a student at Harvard University. Another early academic analysis came from a 1911 essay by Oxford Shakespearean scholar A. C. Bradley, who grouped Austen's novels into "early" and "late" works, a distinction still used by scholars today. The first academic book devoted to Austen in France was Jane Austen by Paul and Kate Rague (1914), who set out to explain why French c...

  11. People also search for