Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 15,300,000 search results
  1. Marine Mammals. Species Category. All Whales Dolphins & Porpoises Seals & Sea Lions. Status. All MMPA Protected MMPA Depleted ESA Endangered ESA Threatened. Region. All Alaska New England/Mid-Atlantic Pacific Islands Southeast West Coast Foreign. Display.

  2. Marine mammals comprise over 130 living and recently extinct species in three taxonomic orders.The Society for Marine Mammalogy, an international scientific society, maintains a list of valid species and subspecies, most recently updated in October 2015.

  3. CONTENTS Page Introduction 1 Carnivora Z Mustelidae Z Pinnipedia Z Otariidae Z Odobenidae 3 Phocidae 3 Sirenia 5 Dugongidae 5 Trichechidae 6 Mysticeti 6 Balaenidae 6 Eschrichtiidae 6 ...

  4. The current version was updated in June 2021. This list can be cited as follows: “Committee on Taxonomy. 2021. List of marine mammal species and subspecies. Society for Marine Mammalogy,, consulted on [date].” This list includes living and recently extinct (within historical times) species and subspecies. It is ...

    • Whales, Porpoises, and Dolphins. Beluga, Cook Inlet population. Delphinapterus leucas. Endangered. Beluga, Sakhalin Bay-Nikolaya Bay-Amur River stock.
    • Seals and Sea Lions. Bearded seal, Beringia distinct population segment (DPS) Erignathus barbatus. Threatened. Bearded seal, Okhotsk distinct population segment (DPS)
    • Manatees and Dugongs. Amazonian manatee. Trichechus inunguis. Endangered. Dugong. Dugong dugon. Depleted. West African manatee. Trichechus senegalensis.
    • Polar Bear. Polar bear. Ursus maritimus. Threatened.
  5. People also ask

    What is the most common marine mammal?

    What are some examples of marine animals?

    What are the largest marine animals?

    What are the different types of sea animals?

  6. Feb 01, 2019 · Marine mammals are found in marine ecosystems around the globe. They are a diverse group of mammals with unique physical adaptations that allow them to thrive in the marine environment with extreme temperatures, depths, pressure, and darkness. Marine mammals are classified into four different taxonomic groups: cetaceans (whales, dolphins, and porpoises), pinnipeds (seals, sea lions, and ...

  1. People also search for