Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 509,000 search results
  1. the archbishop of canterbury is the senior bishop and a principal leader of the church of england, the symbolic deputy head of the worldwide anglican communion (the monarch of the united kingdom of great britain and northern ireland is the head of the church of england as the supreme governor of the church of england) and the diocesan bishop of

  2. The Archbishop of Canterbury is regarded as its titular leader, and exercises considerable spiritual authority beyond the province of Canterbury. The Archbishop of Canterbury presides over the Lambeth Conferences, the decennial meeting of the bishops of the Anglican Communion, and is president of the Anglican Consultative Council. Back to Glossary

  3. People also ask

    Who is the current Archbishop of Canterbury?

    Who was the first bishop of Canterbury?

    How did they choose the Archbishop of Canterbury?

    How the Archbishop of Canterbury is chosen?

  4. The first archbishop of Canterbury was St. Augustine of Canterbury (d. 604/605), a Benedictine monk who was sent from Rome by Pope Gregory I to convert the Anglo-Saxons in England. Augustine arrived in 597 and was well received by Aethelberht I, king of Kent, who gave him a place to live in Canterbury and permitted him to preach.

    • Present Roles and Status
    • Origins
    • Province and Diocese of Canterbury
    • Styles and Privileges
    • Residences
    • See Also
    • External Links

    Today the archbishop fills four main roles:[1] 1. He is the diocesan bishop of the Diocese of Canterbury, which covers the east parts of the County of Kent. Founded in 597, it is the oldest seein the English church. 2. He is the metropolitan archbishop of the Province of Canterbury, which covers the southern two-thirds of England. 3. As Primate of ...

    It has been suggested that the Roman province of Britannia had four archbishops, seated at London, York, Lincoln and Cirencester.[6] However, in the 5th and 6th centuries Britannia began to be overrun by pagan, Germanic peoples who came to be known collectively as the Anglo-Saxons. Of the kingdoms they created, Kent arguably had the closest links w...

    The Archbishop of Canterbury exercises metropolitical (or supervisory) jurisdiction over the Province of Canterbury, which encompasses thirty of the forty-four dioceses of the Church of England, with the rest falling within the Province of York. The four dioceses of Wales were formerly also under the Province of Canterbury until 1920 when they were...

    The Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York are both styled as "The Most Reverend"; retired archbishops are styled as "The Right Reverend". Archbishops are, by convention, appointed to the Privy Council and may, therefore, also use the style of "The Right Honourable" for life (unless they are later removed from the council). In formal d...

    The Archbishop of Canterbury's official residence in London is Lambeth Palace. He also has a residence next to Canterbury Cathedralon the site of the medieval Archbishop's Palace. The archbishops had palaces on the periphery of London and on the route between London and Canterbury. Former palaces of the archbishops include 1. Croydon Palace: the su...

    The Archbishopric of Canterbury, from Its Foundation to the Norman Conquest, by John William Lamb", Published 1971, Faith Press, from Google Book Search
  5. The Archbishop of Canterbury is the senior bishop and principal leader of the Church of England, the symbolic head of the worldwide Anglican Communion and the diocesan bishop of the Diocese of Canterbury. The current archbishop is Justin Welby, who was enthroned at Canterbury Cathedral on 21 March 2013.

  1. People also search for