Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 5,630,000 search results

  1. Pacific Ocean, body of salt water extending from the 60° S parallel in the south to the Arctic in the north and lying between the continents of Asia and Australia on the west and North America and South America on the east. Of the three major oceans, the Pacific is by far the largest, occupying about one-third of the surface of the globe.

  2. Jan 25, 2023 · Pacific Northeast region (Region 67) is the fourth largest Pacific Ocean fishery and seventh largest in the world producing 4% of the global catch or 3,160,372 mt in 2019; this region encompasses the waters north of 40º North latitude and east of 175º West longitude including the Gulf of Alaska and Bering Sea with the major producers including the US (3,009,568 mt), Canada (276,677 mt), and Russia (6,908 mt); the principal catches include Alaska pollock, Pacific cod, and North Pacific hake ...

  3. The South Pacific Ocean covers a major part of the Southern Hemisphere (SH) and plays an important role in the global climate system. Nevertheless, postglacial (Holocene) paleoceanographic records from this ocean are scarce because large parts are covered by deep sea basins, often too deep for carbonate preservation and thus not suitable to obtain records with sufficient time control and resolution (Figure 1 ).

  4. Mar 4, 2019 · The Pacific Ocean is the largest and deepest ocean on Earth. It spans 60 million square miles from California to China, and in certain regions extends tens of thousands of feet below the...

  5. The South Pacific is the Southern Hemisphere portion of the Pacific Ocean, Earth's largest oceanic division, and which includes several islands and archipelagos. It is home to large portions of Oceania (which includes Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia) and Maritime Southeast Asia . It may also refer to: Arts and entertainment [ edit]

  6. Pacific Southern v t e The Pacific Ocean is the largest and deepest of Earth's five oceanic divisions. It extends from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Southern Ocean (or, depending on definition, to Antarctica) in the south, and is bounded by the continents of Asia and Oceania in the west and the Americas in the east.

  7. In terms of cultural identity, the South Pacific Islands are split into three regions: Polynesia, lying in the west and including Samoa, Cook Islands and Tahiti but also extending north to Hawaii and south to New Zealand; Melanesia, in the east and including Fiji, Vanuatu and the Solomon Islands; and Micronesia in the north-west and including Kiribati, Guam and the Federated States of Micronesia.

  1. People also search for