Yahoo Web Search

    • What is the definition of the Warsaw Pact?

      • Warsaw Pact. noun. a military treaty and association of E European countries, formed in 1955 by the Soviet Union, Bulgaria , Czechoslovakia , East Germany , Hungary, Poland, and Romania: East Germany left in 1990; the remaining members dissolved the Pact in 1991.
  1. Dictionary
    War·saw Pact
    /ˈwôrˌsô pakt/
    • 1. a treaty of mutual defense and military aid signed at Warsaw on May 14, 1955, by communist states of Europe under Soviet influence, in response to the admission of West Germany to NATO. The pact was dissolved in 1991.
  2. People also ask

    Can you define simply what Warsaw Pact is?

    What was the Warsaw Pact and what did it do?

    What is the purpose of the Warsaw Pact?

    What was the purpose to the Warsaw Pact?

  3. Warsaw pact | Definition of Warsaw pact at › browse › warsaw--pact

    Warsaw Pact. A military alliance of communist nations in eastern Europe. Organized in 1955 in answer to NATO, the Warsaw Pact included Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and the Soviet Union. It disintegrated in 1991, in the wake of the collapse of communism in eastern Europe and the Soviet Union.

  4. Warsaw Pact - definition of Warsaw Pact by The Free Dictionary › Warsaw+Pact

    Warsaw Pact. n. (Government, Politics & Diplomacy) a military treaty and association of E European countries, formed in 1955 by the Soviet Union, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, and Romania: East Germany left in 1990; the remaining members dissolved the Pact in 1991.

  5. Warsaw Pact: Definition, History, and Significance › warsaw-pact-4178983
    • Warsaw Pact Countries
    • Warsaw Pact History
    • The Warsaw Pact During The Cold War
    • End of The Cold War and The Warsaw Pact

    The original signatories to the Warsaw Pact treaty were the Soviet Union and the Soviet satellite nations of Albania, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania, and the German Democratic Republic. Seeing the NATO Western Bloc as a security threat, the eight Warsaw Pact nations all pledged to defend any other member nation or nations that came under attack. The member nations also agreed to respect each other’s national sovereignty and political independence by not intervening in each other’s internal affairs.In practice, however, the Soviet Union, due to its political and military dominance in the region, indirectly controlled most of the governments of the seven satellite nations.

    In January 1949, the Soviet Union had formed “Comecon,” the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance, an organization for the post-World War II recovery and advancement of the economies of the eight communist nations of Central and Eastern Europe. When West Germany joined NATO on May 6, 1955, the Soviet Union viewed the growing strength of NATO and a freshly rearmed West Germany as a threat to communist control. Just one week later, on May 14, 1955, the Warsaw Pact was established as a mutual military defense complement of the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance. The Soviet Union hoped the Warsaw Pact would help it contain West Germany and allow it to negotiate with NATO on a level playing field of power. In addition, Soviet leaders hoped a unified, multilateral political and military alliance would help them reign in the growing civil unrest in Eastern European countries by strengthening the ties between the Eastern European capitals and Moscow.

    Fortunately, the closest the Warsaw Pact and NATO ever came to actual war against each other during the Cold War years from 1995 to 1991 was the 1962 Cuban Missile Crisis. Instead, Warsaw Pact troops were more commonly used for maintaining communist rule within the Eastern Bloc itself. When Hungary tried to withdraw from the Warsaw Pact in 1956, Soviet troops entered the country and removed the Hungarian People’s Republic government. Soviet troops then put down the nationwide revolution, killing an estimated 2,500 Hungarian citizens in the process. In August 1968, approximately 250,000 Warsaw Pact troops from the Soviet Union, Poland, Bulgaria, East Germany, and Hungary invaded Czechoslovakia. The invasion was triggered by Soviet leader Leonid Brezhnev’s concerns when the Czechoslovakian government of political reformer Alexander Dubček restored freedom of the press and ended government surveillance of the people. Dubček’s so-called “Prague Spring” of freedom ended after Warsaw Pact...

    Between 1968 and 1989, Soviet control over the Warsaw Pact satellite nations slowly eroded. Public discontent had forced many of their communist governments from power. During the 1970s, a period of détentewith the United States lowered tensions between the Cold War superpowers. In November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down and communist governments in Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Romania, and Bulgaria started to fall. Within the Soviet Union itself, the “openness” and “restructuring” political and social reforms of glasnost and perestroika under Mikhail Gorbachevforetold the eventual collapse of the USSR’s communist government As the end of the Cold War neared, troops of the once-communist Warsaw Pact satellite states of Poland, Czechoslovakia and Hungary fought alongside U.S.-led forces to liberate Kuwait in the First Gulf Warin 1990. On July 1, 1991, Czechoslovak President, Vaclav Havel formally declared the Warsaw Pact disbanded after 36 years of military allianc...

  6. WARSAW PACT | Definition of WARSAW PACT by Oxford Dictionary ... › definition › warsaw_pact

    proper noun A treaty of mutual defence and military aid signed at Warsaw on 14 May 1955 by Communist states of Europe under Soviet influence, in response to the admission of West Germany to NATO. The Pact was dissolved in 1991.

  7. What does Warsaw Pact mean? - definitions › definition › Warsaw+Pact

    The Warsaw Treaty Organization of Friendship, Cooperation, and Mutual Assistance, more commonly referred to as the Warsaw Pact, was a mutual defense treaty between eight communist states of Central and Eastern Europe in existence during the Cold War.

  8. Urban Dictionary: warsaw pact › define

    warsaw pact A treaty between the eastern bloc nations and the USSR to protect against NATO interferance, specifically in East Germany. Signed in 1955, the member states were the USSR, Poland, East Germany, Hungary, Albania, Romania, Czechoslovakia and bulgaria.

  9. Warsaw Pact financial definition of Warsaw Pact

    Warsaw Pact A military pact between the Soviet Union and a number of Eastern European countries that existed between 1955 and 1991. Members of the Warsaw Pact pledged mutual defense. It was established in response to the formation of NATO and was a key alliance during the Cold War.

  10. Warsaw Pact: US History for Kids - American Historama › warsaw-pact

    Jul 01, 2014 · The Warsaw Pact was a military and political alliance between the USSR and seven communist satellite nations behind the Iron Curtain. What date was the Warsaw Pact signed? The date the Warsaw Pact was signed was on May 14, 1955 during the Cold War.

  11. People also search for