Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 258,000 search results
  1. Western Europe is the region of Europe farthest from Asia, with the countries and territories included varying depending on context.. After the beginning of foreign exploration in the Age of Discovery, roughly from the 15th century, the concept of Europe as "the West" began gradually to be distinguished from and eventually to replace the hitherto dominant use of "Christendom" as the preferred ...

    • Definitions
    • Background
    • Summary
    • Miscellaneous

    Belgium, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands and United Kingdom are the official countries that form the Western Europe according to CIA classification. However, various organizations and groups define Western Europe differently, guided by different ideologies. These include history, economics, politics and geography. There are even geopolitical and cultural definitions of the term. The previous definition adopted by the CIA includes five of the seven countries. It had Belgium, Netherlands, France, Great Britain, Ireland, Spain and Portugal. However, currently, three countries, namely Andorra, Portugal and Spain, belong to the Southwestern Europe category according to the CIA. Therefore, some people would see it as a group of ten countries.

    Historically, post-war Europe was divided into two major parts: the Western Bloc and the Eastern Bloc. The Western Bloc, which was known as the Western Europe and comprising of the non-Communist countries, was allied with the NATO against the Soviet Union during the Cold War. It contained the seven countries listed above.

    The economics of the region and economics of the countries in or around this region also shape the definition. In fact, some people consider how rich a country is or how developed it is when categorizing members into this list, and the countries that would certainly fit well according to this categorization are Germany, UK , Italy, France, Spain and Portugal, Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg.

    Various groups and organization lists different countries as belonging to Western Europe. CIA lists Belgium, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands and United Kingdom as the only countries belonging to the Western Europe. The confusion is because the term is not official like the EU.

  2. Jun 27, 2018 · WESTERN EUROPE. The coinages of early modern Europe, which were basically a continuation of those created in the medieval era, were composed of the two precious metals — gold and silver — and the base metal copper. Most European countries and regions continued to employ a monometallic system based on silver, but supplemented by gold and copper.

  3. Map of Western Europe. Western Europe as we know it, is a geopolitical construct that came into being at the time of the Cold War. Although references to West and Eastern Europe can be traced back to the Roman empire. Shortly after World War 2 the alliance between the USSR and England/USA broke down and in it’s place rose the cold war.

  4. People also ask

    What countries are considered Western Europe?

    What are some interesting facts about Western Europe?

    What were the key countries of Western Europe?

    What are the names of the countries in Western Europe?

  5. Mar 31, 2020 · Western Europe consists of nine countries, including Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands and Switzerland, according to the United Nations. This designation of Western Europe is part of the geoscheme for the Europe continent that was developed by the United Nations Statistics Division.

  6. The Northern and Western European regions have an estimated population of 299 million (World Bank, 2016); the countries participating in this study account for 93.7 percent of the population in the region. View the full Northern & Western Europe region report

    Ease Of Operating
    Tax Incentives
    Cross Border Flows
  1. People also search for