Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 4,650,000 search results

  1. Sep 13, 2022 · The countries of Eastern Europe cover a large geographic area of the continent. According to the United Nations definition, countries within Eastern Europe are Belarus, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine, and the western part of the Russian Federation.

    • Contents
    • Eastern Europe
    • Western Europe
    • Northern Europe
    • Southern Europe
    • Central Europe

    Eastern Europe is the largest and most populous subregion in Europe, with approximately 292 million people, and a total land area of 18,052,768 sq. km. The Eastern European subregion stretches from the Ural Mountains in the east to the western borders of Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, and Bulgaria. It consists of 10 countri...

    Western Europe consists of 9 countries, and has a total population of about 196 million. The subregion is home to two of Europe’s biggest political and economic powers, France and Germany. Combined, they contain more than half of Western Europe’s population. Germany is the most populous country in Western Europe, with a population of approximately ...

    Northern Europe consists of 10 countries. The subregion has a population of about 106 million, which makes it the least populous of the European subregions. More than half of this population resides in one country, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The UK is the mother country of the once mighty British Empire, one of the mo...

    Southern Europe is where much of Europe’s history began. It is where the great, ancient civilizations of Greece and Rome were born. The advancements that these ancient civilizations made in governance, science, architecture, and the arts helped shape both Europe and the rest of the world. But Southern Europe is more than just the ruins of ancient c...

    Central Europe is not part of the UN Geoscheme for Europe. Moreover, although the concept of Central Europe exists both historically and currently, there is no consensus as to which countries should be considered part of it. For the sake of argument, it is probably safe to say that there are up to 9 countries that could be considered part of Centra...

  2. Eastern Europe. Digital rendering of Europe, focused over the continent's eastern portion. Eastern Europe is a subregion of the European continent. As a largely ambiguous term, it has a wide range of geopolitical, geographical, ethnic, cultural, and socio-economic connotations.

  3. People also ask

    What countries are in Western Europe?

    What is the geography of Western Europe like?

    What is the history of Western Europe?

  4. The map shows Central and Eastern Europe and surrounding countries with international borders, national capitals, major cities and major airports. You are free to use the above map for educational and similar purposes; if publishing, please credit Nations Online Project as the source.

    • Belarus. Belarus is a former Soviet republic, which gained independence in 1991. It has a population of approximately 9.4 million people. After breaking away from the USSR, Belarus maintained close ties to Russia, unlike many other countries in Eastern Europe that have grown closer to the West.
    • Bulgaria. Bulgaria has a population of about 6.9 million people. The country was a member of the Warsaw Pact during the Cold War. In 1990, however, the country’s communist regime gave up power.
    • Czech Republic. The landlocked Czech Republic is a country of approximately 10.7 million people. It was formally part of the country known as Czechoslovakia, which unified Czechs and Slovaks into one state.
    • Hungary. Hungary is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe that contains about 9.6 million people. Like all the countries of Eastern Europe, it was part of the communist eastern bloc during the Cold War.
  1. People also search for