Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 15,200,000 search results
  1. Jun 20, 2010 · Rev. Austen did not linger long after falling ill, and on January 21, Jane Austen would write sorrowfully to her brother, Frank, one of two sailors in the family: “We have lost an excellent Father. An illness of only eight and forty hours carried him off yesterday morning between ten and eleven.

  2. Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775, in the village of Steventon in Hampshire. Her father Reverend George Austen was the rector of the Anglican parishes of Steventon and Deane. A voracious reader, he owned a vast library and often supplemented his income by tutoring students for Oxford.

  3. Jun 30, 2021 · A very nice Father’s Day tribute to Jane Austen’s father. Thank you for it. I do find it interesting that, although Jane had a loving and supportive father, that all her fathers in her novels were flawed. I never really considered Sir Thomas’ fathering skills too much, as he was Fanny’s uncle, but I agree he was probably the best of the ...

  4. People also ask

    Where was Jane Austen born and raised?

    Who were Jane Austen's parents George and Cassandra?

    How many children did Jane Austen have?

    What was Jane Austen's relationship with her brothers like?

  5. en.wikipedia.org › wiki › Jane_AustenJane Austen - Wikipedia

    • Biographical Sources
    • Life
    • Published Author
    • Posthumous Publication
    • Genre and Style
    • Reception

    There is little biographical information about Jane Austen's life except the few letters that survived and the biographical notes which her family members wrote. During her lifetime, Austen wrote perhaps 3,000 letters, but only 161 have survived. Many were written to her older sister Cassandra, who in 1843 burned the greater part of them and cut pieces out of those she kept. Ostensibly, Cassandra destroyed or censored her sister's letters to prevent their falling into the hands of relatives and ensuring that "younger nieces did not read any of Jane Austen's sometimes acid or forthright comments on neighbours or family members".[d]Cassandra believed that in the interest of tact and Jane's penchant for forthrightness, these details should be destroyed. The meager written record of Austen's life leaves little for modern biographers to research. The situation was compounded as successive generations of the family expunged and sanitised the already opaque details of Austen's biography. T...

    Family

    Jane Austen was born in Steventon, Hampshire, on 16 December 1775. She was born a month later than her parents expected; her father wrote of her arrival in a letter that her mother "certainly expected to have been brought to bed a month ago". He added that her arrival was particularly welcome as "a future companion to her sister".The winter of 1776-77 was particularly harsh and it was not until 5 April that she was baptised at the local church with the single name Jane. For much of Jane's lif...

    Steventon

    In 1768 the family took up residence in Steventon. Henry was the first child to be born there, in 1771. At about this time, Cassandra could no longer ignore the signs that little George was developmentally disabled. He was subject to seizures, may have been deaf and mute, and she chose to send him out to be fostered. In 1773, Cassandra was born, followed by Francisin 1774, and Jane in 1775. The youngest, Charles, was born in 1779. According to Honan, the atmosphere of the Austen home was an "...

    Education

    In 1783, Austen and her sister Cassandra were sent to Oxford to be educated by Mrs Ann Cawley who took them with her to Southampton when she moved there later in the year. In the autumn both girls were sent home when they caught typhus and Austen nearly died. Jane and Cassandra were home-schooled until early 1785, when they were sent to a boarding school in Reading, at the Reading Abbey Girls' School, ruled by Mrs La Tournelle, who possessed a cork leg and a passion for theatre. The school cu...

    Like many women authors at the time, Austen published her books anonymously.At the time, the ideal roles for a woman were as wife and mother, and a career of writing was regarded at best as a secondary form of activity for women; a woman who wished to be a full-time writer was felt to be degrading her femininity, so books by women were usually published anonymously in order to maintain the conceit that the female writer was only publishing as a sort of part-time job, and was not seeking to become a "literary lioness" (i.e a celebrity). During her time at Chawton, Jane Austen published four generally well-received novels. Through her brother Henry, the publisher Thomas Egerton agreed to publish Sense and Sensibility, which, like all of Jane Austen's novels except Pride and Prejudice, was published "on commission", that is, at the author's financial risk. When publishing on commission, publishers would advance the costs of publication, repay themselves as books were sold and then char...

    In the months after Austen's death, Cassandra, Henry Austen and Murray arranged for the publication of Persuasion and Northanger Abbey as a set.[p] Henry Austen contributed a Biographical Note dated December 1817, which for the first time identified his sister as the author of the novels. Tomalin describes it as "a loving and polished eulogy".Sales were good for a year—only 321 copies remained unsold at the end of 1818. Although Austen's six novels were out of print in England in the 1820s, they were still being read through copies housed in private libraries and circulating libraries. Austen had early admirers. The first piece of what might now be called fan fiction (or real person fiction) using her as a character appeared in 1823 in a letter to the editor in The Lady's Magazine.It refers to Austen's genius and suggests that aspiring authors were envious of her powers. In 1832 Richard Bentley purchased the remaining copyrights to all of her novels, and over the following winter pu...

    Austen's works critique the sentimental novels of the second half of the 18th century and are part of the transition to 19th-century literary realism.[q] The earliest English novelists, Richardson, Henry Fielding and Tobias Smollett, were followed by the school of sentimentalists and romantics such as Walter Scott, Horace Walpole, Clara Reeve, Ann Radcliffe, and Oliver Goldsmith, whose style and genre Austen rejected, returning the novel on a "slender thread" to the tradition of Richardson and Fielding for a "realistic study of manners". In the mid-20th century, literary critics F. R. Leavis and Ian Wattplaced her in the tradition of Richardson and Fielding; both believe that she used their tradition of "irony, realism and satire to form an author superior to both". Walter Scott noted Austen's "resistance to the trashy sensationalism of much of modern fiction—'the ephemeral productions which supply the regular demand of watering places and circulating libraries'". Yet her rejection...

    Contemporaneous responses

    As Austen's works were published anonymously, they brought her little personal renown. They were fashionable among opinion-makers, but were rarely reviewed. Most of the reviews were short and on balance favourable, although superficial and cautious,most often focused on the moral lessons of the novels. Sir Walter Scott, a leading novelist of the day, anonymously wrote a review of Emma 1815, using it to defend the then-disreputable genre of the novel and praising Austen's realism, "the art of...

    19th century

    Because Austen's novels did not conform to Romantic and Victorian expectations that "powerful emotion [be] authenticated by an egregious display of sound and colour in the writing", 19th-century critics and audiences preferred the works of Charles Dickens and George Eliot. Though the Romantic Scott was positive, Austen's work did not match the prevailing aesthetic values of the Romantic zeitgeist.Her novels were republished in Britain from the 1830s and sold steadily, but they were not best-s...

    Modern

    Austen's works have attracted legions of scholars. The first dissertation on Austen was published in 1883, by Harvard University student George Pellew. Another early academic analysis came from a 1911 essay by Oxford Shakespearean scholar A. C. Bradley, who grouped Austen's novels into "early" and "late" works, a distinction still used by scholars today. The first academic book devoted to Austen in France was Jane Austen by Paul and Kate Rague (1914), who set out to explain why French critics...

  6. Jane Austen's parents, George (1731–1805), an Anglican rector, and his wife Cassandra (1739–1827), were members of the landed gentry. George was descended from wool manufacturers who had risen to the lower ranks of the gentry, and Cassandra was a member of the aristocratic Leigh family.

  7. As Father’s Day comes around, celebrated on the third Sunday in June in most, although certainly not all, countries around the world, Jane Austen devotees can contemplate the rich array of fathers portrayed in the author’s works. By all accounts, Jane Austen had a wonderful relationship with her own father.

  1. People also search for