Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 26,600,000 search results

  1. People also ask

    What books are found in the Old Testament?

    What books are missing from the Old Testament?

    What are the books of the Old Testament in order?

    What is the most important book in the Old Testament?

  2. Three of its books, Exodus, Leviticus and Deuteronomy lay out a series of civil, religious and ethical laws by which the nation of Israel is to be governed. Historical Books The historical books take up: The story of Israel just prior to their conquest of the promised land The establishment of judges to rule over Israel

    • The Book of Genesis (The First Book of Moses) Summary: The Book of Genesis is the first book of the Bible. It details the origins of the universe, Creation, Sin, the Kingdom of God, and The Covenant.
    • The Book of Exodus (The Second Book of Moses) Summary: The Book of Exodus is the second book of the Bible and details how God saved His people through Moses leading the Israelites out of Egypt.
    • The Book of Leviticus (The Third Book of Moses) Summary: The Book of Leviticus is a continuation of Exodus and the third book of the Bible. It offers the rules and instruction on how God commands His people in holiness.
    • The Book of Numbers (The Fourth Book of Moses) Summary: The Book of Numbers or “in the wilderness” in the Hebrew Bible is the fourth book of the Bible.
  3. Aug 7, 2016 · You’ll miss the best part: reading through the books of the Bible yourself! There are 39 total books in the Old Testament, divided into five groups. Pentateuch (Law of Moses) 1. Genesis The book of Genesis answers the question, “Where did all this come from?”

    • Genesis. Genesis speaks of beginnings and is foundational to the understanding of the rest of the Bible. It is supremely a book that speaks about relationships, highlighting those between God and his creation, between God and humankind, and between human beings.
    • Exodus. Exodus describes the history of the Israelites leaving Egypt after slavery. The book lays a foundational theology in which God reveals his name, his attributes, his redemption, his law and how he is to be worshiped.
    • Leviticus. Leviticus receives its name from the Septuagint (the pre-Christian Greek translation of the Old Testament) and means "concerning the Levites" (the priests of Israel).
    • Numbers. Numbers relates the story of Israel's journey from Mount Sinai to the plains of Moab on the border of Canaan. The book tells of the murmuring and rebellion of God's people and of their subsequent judgment.
  1. People also search for