Welcome to the Alaska Unclaimed Property Program Welcome to the State of Alaska’s Unclaimed Property Website. Our mission is to collect and safeguard unclaimed property and to reunite owners with their lost and misplaced property.
Alaska's unclaimed property laws are codified in Chapter 34.45 of the Alaska Statutes. These laws outline varying periods within which property is deemed unclaimed. For example, 15 years for traveler's checks, 5 years for bank deposits, 7 years for money orders, 3 years for life insurance policies, and so on.
Alaska has an unclaimed property act, (AS 34.45) that requires businesses (both profit and non-profit) as well as governmental agencies to file unclaimed money reports with the Department of Revenue. Alaska has dormancy periods which let companies know how long they can hold onto funds before turning it over to the state.
In Alaska, unclaimed property may be tangible or intangible personal property that has been abandoned. For property to be abandoned, there does not need to have been an intent to abandon the property; the property owner simply needs to have lost contact with the holder of the property for a set period of time.
Alaska Alaska Department of Revenue, Treasury Division Unclaimed Property Division Director: Nic Dehart, Unclaimed Property Manager Office phone: (907) 465-5886, fax (907) 465-2394 PO Box 110405 Juneau, AK 99811-0405 Unclaimed Property website: http://treasury.dor.alaska.gov/Unclaimed-Property.aspx
Unclaimed Property; Investments; Cash Management; Debt Management; Permanent Fund Dividend. ... State Of Alaska Department of Revenue P.O. Box 110400 Juneau, AK 99811 ...
People also ask
How do I find unclaimed property in Alaska?
What is unclaimed money in Alaska?
What is the dormancy period for unclaimed property in Alaska?
Is unclaimed property reportable to other states?