Yahoo Web Search

  1. About 8,850,000 search results
    • What are the 3 main Irish dialects?

      • There are three dialects of spoken Irish: Ulster (now predominantly in County Donegal), Connacht (Counties Mayo and Galway), and Munster (Counties Kerry, Cork, and Waterford). Some spelling conventions are common to all the dialects, while others vary from dialect to dialect.
  1. › blog › irish-dialectsIrish Dialects

    Jun 18, 2012 · There are three primary dialects of Irish: Munster, spoken in the southern part of the island (Counties Cork, Kerry, and Clare). Connacht, spoken in the western part of the island (primarily Counties Galway, Mayo, and Sligo).

    • Alphabet
    • Consonants
    • Vowels
    • Epenthetic Vowel
    • Special pronunciations in Verb Forms
    • Diacritics
    • Punctuation
    • Capitalisation
    • Abbreviations
    • Spelling Reform

    The alphabet now used for writing the Irish language consists of the following letters of the Latin script, whether written in Roman hand or Gaelic hand: 1. a á b c d e é f g h i í l m n o ó p r s t u ú; The acute accent over the vowels is ignored for purposes of alphabetization. Modern loanwords also make use of j k q v w x y z. Of these, v is the...

    The consonant letters generally correspond to the consonant phonemes as shown in this table. See Irish phonology for an explanation of the symbols used and Irish initial mutations for an explanation of eclipsis. In most cases, consonants are "broad" (velarised) when the nearest vowel letter is one of a, o, u and "slender" (palatalised) when the nea...

    In spite of the complex chart below, pronunciation of vowels in Irish is mostly predictable from a few simple rules: 1. Fadavowels (á, é, í, ó, ú) are always pronounced. 2. Vowels on either side of a fada vowel are silent. They are present only to satisfy the "caol le caol agus leathan le leathan" ("slender with slender and broad with broad") rule....

    In a sequence of short vowel + /l, r, n/ + labial or velar consonant an unwritten /ə/ gets pronounced between the /l, r, n/and the following consonant: 1. gorm /ˈɡɔɾˠəmˠ/"blue" 2. dearg /ˈdʲaɾˠəɡ/"red" 3. dorcha /ˈd̪ˠɔɾˠəxə/"dark" 4. ainm /ˈanʲəmʲ/"name" 5. seanchaí /ˈʃan̪ˠəxiː/"storyteller" 6. leanbh /ˈlʲan̪ˠəw/"child" 7. colm /ˈkɔl̪ˠəm/"dove" The...

    In verbforms, some letters and letter combinations are pronounced differently from elsewhere. In the imperfect, conditional, and imperative, -dh is pronounced /tʲ/ before a pronoun beginning with s-: 1. mholadh sé /ˈwɔl̪ˠətʲ ʃeː/"he used to praise" 2. bheannódh sibh /ˈvʲan̪ˠoːtʲ ʃɪvʲ/"you (pl.) would bless" 3. osclaíodh sí /ˈɔsˠkl̪ˠiːtʲ ʃiː/"let he...

    Irish spelling makes use today of only one diacritic, and formerly used a second. The acute accent (Irish: síneadh fada "long sign") is used to indicate a long vowel, as in bád /bˠaːd̪ˠ/"boat". However, there are some circumstances under which a long vowel is not indicated by an acute accent, namely: 1. before rd, rl, rn, rr, for example ard /aːɾˠd...

    In general, punctuation marks are used in Irish much as they are in English. One punctuation mark worth noting is the Tironian et ⁊ which is generally used to abbreviate the word agus "and", much as the ampersand is generally used to abbreviate the word andin English. The hyphen (Irish: fleiscín) is used in Irish after the letters t and n when thes...

    Capitalisation rules are similar to English. However, a prefix letter remains in lowercase when the base initial is capitalised (an tSín "China"). For text written in all caps, the prefix letter is often kept in lowercase, or small caps (STAIR NA HÉIREANN "THE HISTORY OF IRELAND").[2] An initial capital is used for:[3] 1. The first word of a senten...

    Irish has a number of abbreviations, most of which, like lch. for leathanach ("p."/"page") and for mar shampla ("e.g."/"for example") are straightforward. Two that may require explanation are .i. (which begins and ends with a full stop) for eadhon ("i.e."/"that is") and ⁊rl. or srl. for agus araile("etc."/"and so forth").

    The literary Classical Irish which survived till the 17th century was already archaic and its spelling reflected that; Theobald Stapleton's 1639 catechism was a first attempt at simplification.[7] The classical spelling represented a dialect continuum including distinctions which had been lost in all surviving dialects by the Gaelic revival of the ...

  2. People also ask

    What are the 3 main Irish dialects?

    What is the meaning of Irish orthography?

    Why do Irish people speak in different dialects on the radio?

    What is the Best Dialect Survey of Irish?

  3. Nov 02, 2011 · The three Irish language dialects There are three major spoken dialects of Irish (in no particular order of importance!): Munster (spoken in the southern part of Ireland) Connacht (spoken in the western part of Ireland) Ulster (spoken in the northern part of Ireland) The Irish dialects are really not not that different

  4. Irish orthography is very etymological which can allow the same written form to result in multiple dialectal pronunciations and remain regular, e.g. ceann ("head") may result in [cɑun̪ˠ], [cɑːn̪ˠ], [can̪ˠ]. A spelling reform in the mid-20th century strengthened grapheme to phoneme correspondence by eliminating inter-dialectal silent ...

  5. in present-day ireland a distinction is made between two types of gaeltacht, depending on the numbers of irish-speakers living there: (1) fíor-ghaeltacht, lit. ‘true irish-area’ refers to those areas with a high-percentage of speakers (though the threshold for this has not been officially defined) and (2) breac-ghaeltacht, lit. ‘part irish-area’